Font Size
-A A +A
Search Search

New Golden Plains Shire Council Declared

Share this:
Thursday, 5 November 2020 - 6:00pm
Media Releases
Golden Plains Civic Centre Golden Plains Shire Council

The Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) has finalised the vote count and this afternoon declared the seven councillors-elect who will form the Golden Plains Shire Council.

Golden Plains Shire Council welcomes the following councillors-elect who will represent Golden Plains Shire for the 2020-2024 term:

  • Brett Cunningham
  • Gavin Gamble
  • Ian Getsom
  • Helena Kirby
  • Les Rowe
  • Owen Sharkey
  • Clayton Whitfield

Thank you to all 13 candidates who put themselves forward to represent the Golden Plains Shire at last month’s election.

The new Council will be sworn in at the Oath/Affirmation of Office ceremony on Saturday 14 November, 2020 at 10am, and the meeting to elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor will be held on Tuesday 17 November, 2020 at 6pm. The Oath/Affirmation of Office ceremony and the Mayoral meeting will both be livestreamed, with a link available at Council’s website on the day:

The first monthly Council Meeting of the 2020-2024 term will be held on Tuesday 24 November, 2020, with the final meeting of the year on Tuesday 15 December, 2020. Both meetings will commence at 6pm, and will also be livestreamed on Council’s website and YouTube page.

The election results can be viewed here.

Search All News

Latest Tweets

Rate this Page

Page Last Updated:

Friday, 6 November 2020 - 11:06am


Council acknowledges the traditional Wadawurrung owners of this land. Council pays its respects to Wadawurrung Elders both past and present and extends that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People who are part of Golden Plains Shire.