Font Size
-A A +A
Search Search

Local Avian Influenza Update: To stay-up-date on remaining movement and sale of poultry products restrictions from Agriculture Victoria, click here.

Election Of Golden Plains Shire Mayor 2020-21

Share this:
Wednesday, 18 November 2020 - 10:45am
Mayor Cr Kirby and Deputy Mayor Cr Getsom Golden Plains Shire Council

Golden Plains Shire Councillors elected Cr Helena Kirby as the Mayor of Golden Plains Shire for 2020-2021 at a Meeting of Council at Golden Plains Civic Centre in Bannockburn, last night.

At the same meeting, Councillors elected Cr Ian Getsom as the Deputy Mayor of Golden Plains Shire for 2020-2021.

Mayor Cr Kirby was elected to serve her fourth consecutive term as a Golden Plains Shire Councillor this month and served as Mayor in 2017-2018. Deputy Mayor Cr Getsom is serving his first term as a Golden Plain Shire Councillor.

Mayor Cr Kirby stated: “It is an honour to be elected as Mayor for the first year of the Council term. The year ahead will be exciting as we create the new Council Plan for the next four years and I am privileged to lead a qualified and experienced Councillor group elected by the people of Golden Plains Shire.”

The recording of the meeting, including Mayor Cr Kirby and Deputy Mayor Cr Getsom's acceptance speeches is available to watch below:

The next Council Meeting will be held on Tuesday 24 November, 2020. Due to COVID restrictions this meeting is closed to the public and available to view via livestream. For more information and to read the Meeting Agenda the day prior to the meeting, visit

Search All News

Latest Tweets

Related News

Rate this Page

Page Last Updated:

Wednesday, 18 November 2020 - 4:45pm


Council acknowledges the traditional Wadawurrung owners of this land. Council pays its respects to Wadawurrung Elders both past and present and extends that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People who are part of Golden Plains Shire.