Font Size
-A A +A
Search Search

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update: For the latest COVID-19 information and changes to Council services, click here.

Citizen of the Year 2021 Nominees

Share this:
Friday, 14 January 2022 - 4:30pm

Council congratulates the Citizen of the Year nominees for the Golden Plains Shire Council Community Awards 2021.

The Golden Plains Shire Council (GPSC) Community Awards 2021 are an opportunity to formally acknowledge extraordinary individuals and community groups who make an outstanding contribution to Golden Plains Shire.

This year, an impressive field of local residents and community groups have been nominated by their fellow community members for awards in four categories: Citizen of the Year, Senior Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, and Community Impact Award.

Congratulations to the five nominees for the GPSC Citizen of the Year 2021:

Kath Bourke

Kath Bourke of Bannockburn is a dedicated and committed volunteer and in her role as a foundation Board Member and Secretary of the Bannockburn & District Grants group, she has been integral in supporting community groups and sporting clubs in the community. Since 2007, Kath has been involved in reviewing and approving more than $600,000 in community grants, while also serving as president and secretary on various community committees. She has served as the Bannockburn Netball Club Secretary in 2007, while also coaching junior teams at the club. Congratulations Kath!

Rob McHenry

Rob McHenry of Inverleigh is a community champion and a community driver for the Inverleigh Football Netball Club. Over the last eight years, Rob has driven and supported the club and its community to create a culture of support and inclusion. He has guided the club to introducing female football and encouraging female members to take part in the committee. Most recently, Rob has taken on the role of leading club welfare, checking in with volunteers and helping to establish welfare officers available to players. Congratulations Rob!

Jo Sibbison

Jo Sibbison of Rokewood is a leader of the Rokewood /Corindhap Community Planning Group and has been integral in ensuring the group survived during challenging times, while facing personal challenges of her own. She has carried the group in a strong manner and successfully led applications for many grants to ensure the important work of the Community Planning Group was a success. Congratulations Jo!

Barry Wemyss

Barry Wemyss of Smythesdale is a generous volunteer and advocate for the Golden Plains’ creative community. He is a leading voice in GPArts Inc and helped drive the development of the new Arts, Culture and Heritage Strategy as a member of the Strategy Community Reference Group. Barry was also pivotal in the success of the 2021 Smythesdale Arts and Music Fiesta, bringing the community together after an incredibly challenging year. The Fiesta showcased the talent of established and emerging local artists, with live music, poetry readings, workshops and a visual art exhibition, while also supporting local food vendors and artisans. Congratulations Barry!

Stuart McCallum

Stuart McCallum of Bannockburn has been a long-term protector of the Bannockburn Bush and an advocate of environmental issues. In 2021, Stuart organised a ‘Full Moon’ event at the Bannockburn Bush Reserve, with the aim of drawing people to the bush and creating connection and value in nature. This was a larger undertaking than the 'Yellowgum' festivals he'd coordinated in previous years. While coordinating this important event, which was delayed twice due to COVID-19, Stuart maintained his various volunteer activities, including making presentations at a number of environmental functions.

The GPSC Community Awards 2021 nominees will be recognised, and the award-winners will be named, at an event on Tuesday 25 January. In line with Council’s COVIDSafe plan, event attendance is limited and by invitation.

See all Community Award nominees

Search All News

Latest Tweets

Rate this Page

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.

Page Last Updated:

Friday, 14 January 2022 - 4:35pm


Golden Plains Shire spans the Traditional lands of the Wadawurrung and Eastern Maar people. Council acknowledges them as the traditional Traditional Owners and Custodians of this land and pays its respects to Wadawurrung Elders and Eastern Maar Elders past, present and emerging. Council extends that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Ppeople who are part of Golden Plains Shire.