Australia Day Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2020 Australia Day Awards, so if you know someone who works hard for their community, nominate them today!

Australia Day Awards 2020

Do you know someone who goes above and beyond for their community?

You're invited to nominate now. The Australia Day Awards are an opportunity to formally acknowledge extraordinary individuals and commuity groups who make an outstanding contribution to the Golden Plains Shire community in fields such as community service, arts and culture, environment, business, economic development and sport. 

The nomination categories are:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Senior Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Community Group of the Year.

Applications open Tuesday 1 October 2019 for the 2020 Awards, and will close 5pm, Monday 2 December 2019. 

Nominate today

View the Eligibility and Assessment Criteria for the 2020 Awards below.

View criteria

2019 Winners

Citizen of the Year - Anthony Walker

Anthony Walker, the Officer in Charge at Linton Police Station, was named the Shire’s Citizen of the Year for his extraordinary investment in the local community beyond his profession.

Anthony, better known as Tony in Linton, is also involved in the primary school, CFA, sporting clubs and much more.

He is described the local go-to person if a resident every needs assistance, from welfare checks to mowing the lawns.

Senior Citizen of the Year - Malcom Johns

Teesdale’s Malcolm Johns was named Senior Citizen of the Year for his 30 years of service to the Inverleigh RSL.

Young Citizen of the Year - Luke Getsom

The Young Citizen of the Year award was presented to Piggoreet teenager Luke Getsom, for his campaigning efforts against bullying and cyberbullying.

Community Group of the Year - The Meredith History and Interest Group

The Meredith History Interest Group received the Community Group of the Year award for its commitment to documenting the town’s past and involvement in local events.

2018 Winners

Citizen of the Year - Margaret Cooper

Margaret received this award in recognition of her many years of service to the Meredith community. She is a volunteer at the information centre, an active member of the Meredith Art Group, and a founding member of the Meredith Book Club and Meredith History Group. Margaret has also written many books including Significant Women of Meredith and she also produces a local calendar!

Senior Citizen of the Year - Dianne Moylan

Dianne is an extremely active community member in Scarsdale and surrounding communities. Amongst her many contributions, she is the Scarsdale Community Coordinator and Smythesdale Market Coordinator. She also teaches children how to garden at the primary school and was a driving force with the Scarsdale Station and community gym development. Her nominator says developing and growing the Scarsdale community is her life. Dianne is also involved with the cemetery trust.

Young Citizen of the Year- Kaitlyn Schurman

Kaitlyn has dedicated countless hours to the Golden Plains Shire Council Youth Development activities and events and has been an integral member for People of Golden Plains, Tech, Tea and Tales, Youth Empowerment Roadshow and Teesdale Twilight Market. Kaitlyn also recently received a Victorian Premiers Volunteer Award in the service category.

Community Event of the Year- Linton Town Garage Sale

The Linton Town Wide Garage Sale has been running successfully over the last few years, last year involving over 20 garage sale sites and providing a fundraising opportunity for community organisations. The Garage Sale brings many visitors to the town, which results in increased turnover for local businesses. Community feedback indicates that it is a well organised, thoroughly thought-out community event.

2017 Winners

Citizen of the Year – Stewart Seaton

Stewart has been recognised for his immense contribution to the Teesdale community and wider Golden Plains surrounds; devoting countless hours to the Turtle Bend Events committee, Primary School, local Freeza community and Golden Plains Hockey Club. 

Stewart’s contribution as an architect will also be enjoyed throughout the Shire in Smythesdale, Meredith, Teesdale and Bannockburn for many years to come.

Senior Citizen of the Year – Carmen Powles

Carmen has been nominated for the outstanding service she has provided to the local Golden Plains community of Meredith. As Community Organiser for the Meredith Music Festival for over 25 years, Carmen has been instrumental in coordinating multiple groups and organisations to present a united and successful fundraising effort benefitting the entire town.

Carmen has contributed to the St Joseph’s Catholic Church, Primary School, Tennis Club, Netball Club to name a few.

Young Citizen of the Year – Katrina Andrensek

Kat is a resident of Bannockburn who regularly volunteers her time in support of Council youth programs; for example Battle of the Bands, Youth Lounge Arts Mural and People of Golden Plains; in an effort to connect with and enhance her local community.

A capable pianist, violin and vocalist Kat has volunteered her artistic services across the Shire. Kat has become known for her empathy and compassion and is a natural mentor and role model to her younger counterparts.

Community Event of the Year – Teesdale Twilight Market

A hotly anticipated event on the Shire’s social calendar for young and old, the Teesdale Twilight Market has grown from strength to strength to include Christmas Carols, live performers, fireworks, food stalls, and a visit from Santa Claus. This award is a reflection of the great work by the dedicated team on the Teesdale Community Events Committee. 

Rate this page

Is this page useful?